As a family we’ve been avoiding gluten as much as possible, since we know the gluten downfalls. Also, for one of us, it causes noticeable inflammation. Some people have asked the question, Are Sour Patch Kids Gluten Free?
This post will discuss whether Sour Patch Kids are gluten-free or not, so let’s get into it!
What Are Sour Patch Kids?
Sour Patch Kids are a sweet but also sour candy with a gummy like chewiness. Let’s see if we can find gluten in the ingredients.
Sour Patch Kids Ingredients
Let’s look at the Sour Patch Kids Ingredients to see if they do have gelatin. As discussed in the post on Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan or Vegetarian? there are two different versions of Sour Patch Kids, depending on where you live. For the U.S., the ingredients seem to be:
- CORN SYRUP
- MODIFIED CORN STARCH
- CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF TARTARIC ACID,CITRIC ACID,NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR,YELLOW 6,RED 40,YELLOW 5,BLUE 1.
For those in the U.K. or possibly elsewhere, here is the ingredient list as seen on a package of Sour Patch Kids.
- Glucose Syrup
- Acid (malic acid)
- Concentrated apple juice
- Colours (anthocyanins, vegetable carbon, paprika extract, lutein, curcumin)
- Acidity regulator (calcium citrates)
- Palm oil
You can find the official Sour Patch Kids website and ingredients list here.
Are Sour Patch Kids Gluten Free?
Based on the ingredients that we know, are Sour Patch Kids gluten free? It looks like Sour Patch Kids do not have any wheat flour listed in the ingredients, and do not have gluten!
Sour Patch Kids are gluten-free and make the gluten-free candy list.
But, be aware that when I was looking at if Sour Patch Watermelon are Vegan or Not, I discovered that Sour Patch Watermelon do have wheat and therefore gluten in them. Just be aware of this, since Sour Patch Watermelon are closely related to Sour Patch Kids. Sour Patch Kids have a lot of closely related candy versions, and most are similar in ingredients and should be gluten-free, but Sour Patch Watermelon are not.
Are Sour Patch Kids Soy Free?
Sour Patch Kids do not contain any soy either and are also soy free.
Are Sour Patch Candy Canes Gluten Free?
Sour Patch Kids Candy Canes are gluten-free as well. They do not have wheat flour and have been certified as gluten free.
Final Thoughts on Are Sour Patch Kids Gluten Free
We’ve looked at the Sour Patch Kids ingredients and have found that they do not contain wheat flour and Sour Patch Kids are gluten-free. Sour Patch kids are soy free as well.
Lance has been passionate about the plant-based diet and we have been following a whole food plant-based diet for over 5 years. We focus on health, natural healing, weight management, animal rights, and the health of the planet and environment by focusing on whole plant-based foods and sustainable practices.
Learn more at the About Me page and follow on social media at the links below.