Do Swedish Fish Have Gelatin in them?

Do Swedish Fish have gelatin in them

Do Swedish Fish have gelatin in them

It may be a little uncertain as to if Swedish Fish have gelatin in them or not.  In our past post we looked at if Sour Patch Kids Have Gelatin, because they contain the consistency of a food that might use gelatin.  Gelatin is used as a gumming agent and make foods and candies gummy, much like Swedish Fish or Sour Patch Kids.  But do Swedish Fish actually have gelatin, or is if something else, as in the case of some Sour Patch Kids, that might be used instead of gelatin to make them gummy.

Let’s explore that in this article.

What are Swedish Fish?

Swedish Fish are a fish shaped gummy candy that was originated in Sweden.  The original Swedish company was named Malaco and wanted something to represent Sweden.  Fishing is a large part of the Swedish culture and composes a lot of the Swedish diet.

Swedish Fish were released in the U.S. in the 1950’s.

What is Gelatin?

sweden fishing

Sweden was known for fishing

Gelatin is used in foods as a stabilizer or as a thickening agent.  It is made from boiling the  made from the skin and bones of cows and pig.  This means it is generally not a vegan or vegetarian friendly product.  Even peta lists gelatin as not vegan friendly.

Do Swedish Fish Have Gelatin?

According to the ingredients of the American version, Swedish Fish do not have gelatin.  The gumming agent, much like in Sour Patch Kids, appears to be corn syrup and modified corn starch, rather than gelatin.

Let’s have a closer look at the ingredients of Swedish Fish next.

What Are the Ingredients in Swedish Fish?

According to boxes of Swedish Fish in the U.S. here are the ingredients:

  • Sugar
  • Invert sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Modified corn starch
  • Citric acid
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • White mineral oil
  • Carnauba wax or Beeswax
  • Red (Dye) #40
  • Yellow (Dye) #6
  • Yellow (Dye) #5
  • Blue (Dye) #1

Swedish Fish ingredients

It appears that gelatin does not show up in the ingredients for Swedish Fish.

There are two versions of Swedish Fish, one with beeswax and the other without, but in both versions, there is no gelatin listed.

Can Vegans Eat Swedish Fish?

For vegans who are only concerned about gelatin, this is not found in any Swedish Fish variety.  But there are other ingredients, including bees wax, which are found in all or some Swedish Fish packages that would make them not vegan friendly.

Conclusion

It appears that Swedish Fish do not contain gelatin in any of the forms in which they are distributed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *